Men's rowing completes excellent 2018 spring season

Photo by Michael P. Doherty
Photo by Michael P. Doherty

The Hamilton College Continentals finished third in the varsity 8 petite final at the 2018 National Invitational Rowing Championships on Lake Quinsigamond in Worcester, Mass., on Friday.

The regatta doubled as the 2018 NESCAC Rowing Championships. The conference was represented by seven schools at the national invitational event.

Hamilton landed in third place in its varsity 8 heat with a time of 5:57.652. The top two finishers in each heat advanced to the grand final and the third and fourth place boats went on to the petite final. The Continentals took third place in an exciting petite final where the six boats were separated by less than five seconds. Tufts University captured first place in 5:58.144 followed by Trinity College (6:00.514) and Hamilton (6:00.930). The Continentals edged Rochester Institute of Technology (6:01.004) and Wesleyan University (6:01.914).

In the second varsity 8 Hamilton was fourth in its heat with a time of 6:08.794 and moved on to the petite final. The Continentals ended up in third place in 6:12.296 while Wesleyan grabbed the top spot (6:06.700). Hamilton edged Colby College (6:12.894) and finished ahead of Williams College (6:14.914).

The Continentals qualified for the open fours grand final by finishing second in their heat with a time of 7:01.820. Hamilton wound up in sixth place in the grand final (7:18.594) and Bates College collected the gold medal with a winning time of 6:59.612 and finished more than six seconds ahead of the runner-up.

"We had some strong performances yesterday, the most competitive we've ever been across the board," head coach Rob Weber said. "They did themselves and the College proud. We're saying goodbye to a fantastic group of seniors, three men and five women, who have raised the standard for Hamilton rowing. They're definitely leaving the program better than they found it."


Allie Duggan '20 (Cox)
Grant Kiefaber '19
Trent Pfeiffer '19
Harry Thomas '18
Harrison Potter '18
Chris Berry-Toon '21
Thomas Marsh '20
Fred Pollevick '20
Eric Fischer '20

Haley Raphael '20 (Cox)
Josh Hollenberg '21
Will Grimes '21
Philip Gow '21
Parker Esty '21
Jarod Estacio '21
Houghton Yonge '18
Nick Silvestri '19
Jon Jobling '20

Rileigh Arrington '21 (Cox)
Andrew Vorrath '20
Samuel Gause '21
Joel Harper '21
Leo Ross '21